Link to Original Document

9 aspects of shakti

Each day has a different aspect and name

  1. Shailaputri
  2. Brahmacharini
  3. Chandraganta
  4. Kushmanda
  5. Skanda mata
  6. Katyayani
  7. Kaalratri
  8. Mahagauri
  9. Sidhidatri

Each number corresponds to the day of Navratri

There are stories behind each day

However the stories have a spiritual interpretation. And thus corresponds to a different yoga experience

I have hinted at them elsewhere

To give an example – she is called Maha Gauri. Meaning very fair. Once Shankar made fun of her called her dark complexioned – kaali. So she went to Maansarovar. She took a bath in it, the dark complexion part of her separated out , was called kaushiki and Kaushiki destroyed Shumba and Nishumba

The spiritual meaning is – the inner most part of us – the anahkarana has spots. Defects. It is full of desires, anger, etc. that is the dark complexion. Bathing in maansarovar refers to merging our consciousness able Agnachakra ( in manaschakra ) gets rid of am the defects. The dark complexion that emerges from the bath destroys shumba and nishumba – the dualities that we see good and bad, etc and replaces it with seeing purity in the world which of course is God or shakti herself

%d bloggers like this: